Sample New Testament Tweets

16 03 2012

The Modern Language Association has created a citation form for Tweets.  I could only remotely see where a Tweet might appear in a well-researched paper; however, it is nice to have a standardized form.  One can see the citation form on the MLA website:  Tweet Style Citation.  However, I have created some models based on samples from the New Testament.  My sense is that many of the New Testament writers would have been particularly good at writing Tweets.  Below are some examples; all taken directly from the New Testament.  You can look them up.

Nathanael (GuileLess). “Can anything good come out of the Nazareth?” 2 June 31, 9:30 a.m. Tweet.

Pilate, Pontius (BossMan). “What is truth?” 12 March 33, 12:05 a.m. Tweet.

Paul (ManInMotion).  “Don’t let anybody get it into his head that I’m a crackpot.  If so, then just let me go being a crackpot so I can bring out a few of my own qualifications.” 23 November 59, 5:15 p.m. Tweet.

Paul (ManInMotion). “If anybody brings you a gospel different from the one you received, to hell with him.” 12 August 58, 3:32 p.m. Tweet.

Paul (ManInMotion). “I wish those who unsettle you would castrate themselves!” 12 August 58, 4:03 p.m. Tweet.

John (VisionMan).  “I was in the Spirit.” 18 July 98, 11:17 a.m. Tweet.

Dives (FatCat).  “Send Lazarus to dip the end of his finger in some water and rub it over my tongue, bcoz I’m scorching in this heat.” ?, ?, Tweet.

Demons (Legion).  “What you got against me, Jesus, you God’s holy boy? I warn you, don’t you put the screws on me.” 13 May 33, 1:32 a.m. Tweet.

Some readers might recognize the more colloquial translations as coming from Clarence Jordan’s The Cotton Patch Version.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

